Brittany-Piovesan-square

Brittany Piovesan

Cadre responsable des programmes

Devenue cadre responsable des programmes de la Fondation Internet Society en novembre 2019, Brittany Piovesan est en charge de la mise en œuvre et de la gestion des programmes de financement des chapitres Beyond the Net et SCILLS (Strengthening Communities/Improving Lives and Livelihoods, soit renforcer les communautés/améliorer les vies et les moyens de subsistance).

Brittany a consacré la majeure partie de ses dix dernières années de travail à la réflexion sur Internet et ses possibilités. Avant de rejoindre la Fondation, Brittany était cadre principal pour les programmes de l’équipe Global Technology d’Internews, où elle encadrait un ensemble varié de projets visant à garantir l’ouverture et la sécurité d’Internet. Dans le cadre de ce travail, elle a soutenu des défenseurs des libertés sur Internet et des organisations de la société civile qui luttent pour protéger les droits de l’homme sur Internet dans le monde entier. Avant Internews, Brittany a été conseillère en politique de cybersécurité pour Shared Services Canada. À ce poste, elle a dirigé des recherches sur les tendances en informatique, développé des réseaux sur les politiques et pris goût aux mauvaises blagues informatiques.

Brittany a obtenu un diplôme de premier cycle en Histoire et études des femmes de l’Université d’Ottawa et un diplôme d’études supérieures en Histoire et civilisations islamiques de l’Université de Chicago. Elle parle anglais, français et espagnol, et maîtrise quelques phrases d’arabe, de turc et d’italien. C’est une fan inconditionnelle de raviolis.

Brittany est une Canadienne expatriée à Washington, D.C.

Skip to content
Brittany-Piovesan-square

Brittany Piovesan

Program Officer

Brittany Piovesan joined the Internet Society Foundation in November 2019 as the Program Officer responsible for implementing and managing the Chapter Beyond the Net and Strengthening Communities/Improving Lives and Livelihoods (SCILLS) funding program, working closely with Ilda Simao on Chapter Programs.

For the better part of the last decade, Brittany has spent her professional life thinking about the Internet and its possibilities. Prior to joining the Foundation, Brittany worked as a Senior Program Officer with Internews’ Global Technology team, managing a range of projects aimed at ensuring that the Internet remains open and secure. Through this work, she supported Internet freedom advocates and civil society organizations from around the world who fight to protect human rights online. Before joining Internews, Brittany worked as a Cybersecurity Policy Advisor with Shared Services Canada. In that role, she led research into IT trends, built policy networks and developed a fondness for bad computer jokes.

Brittany has an undergraduate degree in History and Women’s Studies from the University of Ottawa and a graduate degree in Islamic History and Civilizations from the University of Chicago. She speaks English, French, and Spanish, as well as a few well-practiced sentences in Arabic, Turkish and Italian. She has yet to meet a dumpling she does not love. 
Brittany is a Canadian expat, based in Washington, DC.

Scroll To Top